Michael A. Stecker


Mount Tongariro
Formally created by an act of parliament in 1894 Tongariro National Park is New Zealand's oldest national park and a World Heritage site as well.  Found in central North Island just south of Lake Taupo are the three andesitic volcanoes at the heart of the park -- Tongariro, Ngaruahoe and Ruapehu.  Together they form the southern limits of the Taupo Volcanic Zone.