Michael A. Stecker


Following a day of heated debate at the house of British resident James Busby (shown above), the Treaty of Waitangi was signed at Waitangi in the
Bay of Islands on 6 February 1840 by Captain William Hobson, several English residents and approximately forty-five Maori chiefs.
The Treaty of Waitangi (Te Tiriti O Waitangi) lays the foundation for the way Maori and other New Zealanders share responsibility for their country
and is considered the founding document of the nation of New Zealand.